Image

whoville

whoville

this painting was done when my son julien was 2 years old. i was a single mom at the time and julien, my painting and my spirituality were the only things keeping me afloat. we were reading a lot of dr. seuss back then and those stories inspired my imagination and this is what our “Whoville” would look like if we lived there. i painted this for an art contest by my mother’s request for Kaiser Permanente. they were featuring local artists and i think i won $50. looking back i cherish those days with julien because we were both babies in our understanding of what it meant to be in the world.

Leave a Reply

